Basic balsamic veggies

After a day full of midterms and neglecting to grocery shop for sometime, I had to make do with whatever I had in the fridge. In the fridge were brussel sprouts, baby broccoli and mushrooms. I was very close to ordering takeout, but knew that was wrong of me. Sadly, my favorite vegetable brussel sprouts have a bad rap, but when cooked right can be a great addition to any vegetable medley. After consulting the vinegars and oils in my pantry, I had an idea. Before you stop reading this because you see “brussel sprouts,” don’t worry, any of your favorite veggies will do.

  • 2 cups brussel sprouts
  • 1 package baby broccoli
  • 1 package mushrooms. I used shiitake, but crimini would work just as well.
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 TBS balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • Salt and pepper to taste

I began by halving the brussel sprouts and chopping the stems off the broccoli. It’s a preference whether you want whole or sliced mushrooms in the mix, I chose to leave them as is, but it’s really up to you.

IMG_3050Turn the stove on to medium heat, add the olive oil and garlic to the pan to allow the garlic to caramelize-about 3 minutes. Then add all of the veggies to the pan and allow them to cook for 10-15 minutes, moving everything around halfway through.

About two minutes before removing from heat, add the chili flakes along with the balsamic vinegar. With the vegetables becoming slightly dehydrated, they quickly soak up any liquid, making them much more flavorful. The sugar from the balsamic counteracts the bitterness of the brussel sprouts making them a delight to put in your mouth.

I know you may be skeptical, but these vegetables surprised me with how delicious they can be together. I especially loved the balsamic with the brussel sprouts. You may want have this over rice because it with absorb all of the flavors.

IMG_3058

Substitutions

I used baby broccoli in this because I like the texture and intense flavor more than regular broccoli, but either version will do. I also made a variation of this with cauliflower awhile back that was equally as good.

Balsamic vinegar-substituting soy sauce would give this an asian flare, and might be better with the rice

All of this in under 25 minutes. We hope you find this as easy as we did.

Leave a Reply

