Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce

My dad always taught me that a recipe was more of a guide rather than rules. I took that to heart when thinking of how to make this yummy pasta sauce. After looking at 3 or 4 recipes, I took what I liked from each of them, random ideas from my head, and made this recipe my own!

This sauce is the perfect for fall and can be used with anything… and even as a soup! It’s also a perfect way to sneak veggies in to your pasta!

What you’ll need:

  • 3 cups butternut squash
  • 1/4 onion
  • 2 garlic cloves – smashed
  • 1/2 to 1 tbsp chili flakes
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup (plus more) olive oil
  • 1 tbsp dried sage
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • Salt and pepper
  • Chicken or veggie broth (optional!)

For the squash, you can totally buy pre-cut, but I went with using a whole one. I’ll use the leftover in my next recipe, roasted butternut squash! To learn how to prepare the squash, watch this awesome video from Mario Batali.

For this recipe, you’ll want smaller pieces so that they can blend easier. I put extra in a tupperware that be in the fridge for about 4 days. IMG_0501

After dealing with the squash, I cut up the onion. Since it will be blended, it can be a rough cut and doesn’t have to be even. In a pan on medium heat, I added about a tablespoon of olive oil. Once that heated up I added the squash, onion, garlic, salt, pepper, and chili flakes. With the chili flakes, add as much or as little as you like. I did a full tablespoon and it added a little kick, but it was definitely not spicy. IMG_0503

Let that got for about 10 minutes covered, stirring occasionally. When that’s done you’ll want to add water or stock to the pan. Top with 3 tablespoons of butter, lightly mix, and let sit on medium heat covered for 10 minutes. IMG_0504

Take off the lid and let it cool until the boiling settles down. Add all of these ingredients in to your blender along with sage, 1/4 of olive oil and a 1/4 cup of milk. Blend until it looks smooth. Take off the lid (but be careful of the steam!) and taste. Add more seasonings or more milk if you think it needs to be thinner.IMG_0505

From here you can do whatever the heck you want with it! But I added some of it back in to the pan I cooked it in, dropped in some lobster ravioli (thanks Trader Joe’s!), and added some of the pasta water to thin out the sauce. Just like that, I totally amped up my meal.IMG_0507

Freeze the leftover sauce and use it whenever and however your heart desires!IMG_0509-1

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

