Guest Edition- Erin’s Salmon

I am so excited for our 2nd Guest Edition of Duck’s that Cook! Here is Erin’s awesome salmon and spaghetti squash! Enjoy!!

Hi, I’m Erin! I used to be the worst cook ever; I once burnt pasta making it in the microwave (long story). But, since, I’ve had to fend for myself in college, I’ve developed some cooking skills and decided to share this super easy recipe with you all!

Salmon served with spaghetti squash!

What you need:

  • 1 Spaghetti Squash
  • 1 piece of salmon (4-6 oz, depending how you feel)
  • 1 tomato
  • 3 little pieces of garlic
  • 5 leaves of basil
  • olive oil
  • garlic salt
  • vinegar

Okay, so honestly, the hardest part of this meal was first finding a spaghetti squash and then cutting it. Safeway has them, and Trader Joe’s doesn’t. First, you cut the spaghetti squash in half, long ways, and then scoop out the gunk in the inside.01.png

 

Then, I placed the spaghetti squashes upside down in a microwave safe bowl with some water in the bottom. After I did that, I put my frying pan on the stove with some oil in it, and turned it on medium-high.

For the salmon, I poured some olive oil on both sides, and sprinkled some pepper and garlic salt on both sides of the fish. When the oil in the pan was hot, I put the salmon on the pan and let it sit there.

 

I then put the bowl in the microwave for 12 minutes. While it was cooking, I flipped the salmon on the pan a few times, until it was fully cooked.
02.png2.png

Also while the spaghetti squash and salmon were cooking, I made the sauce for my squash! I made a bruschetta to top it, but you could easily use Sydney’s Balsamic Checca to add a slightly different flavor.

4.pngkhkfkh.pngFor the bruschetta, I chopped up on tomato, my three little pieces of garlic, and my basil leaves.  Make sure you chop the garlic and basil leaves up really well!

 

By then, the salmon was almost ready and the spaghetti squash was beeping in the microwave. The squash will be really hot, so use a towel or oven mitts to pick it up and put it on a board. Once you have it on a board, take a fork, and just fork out the pieces of squash. It’ll look like spaghetti! I put one half of the squash into a bowl and then threw in my bruschetta mix and smushed it up.

5.png6.png7.png

Then, I put my squash bruschetta mix on a plate, put my salmon on top and boom!, you’re ready to eat! Enjoy! 8.png9.png

Leave a Reply

