Chilaquiles Verdes

My family is full of chilaquiles snobs. They like it how they like it and tbh, its the best. So will my dad and grandma be proud of this recipe? Probably. Is it gonna be as good as theirs? Probably not. But hey, its still pretty damn good and you should totally try it out.

What you’ll need:

  • Tortilla Chips **(I used home made but store bought is always easy)
  • Salsa Verde (I made mine with this recipe. You can buy it. Whatever floats your boat.)

Optional

  • Eggs (1…2…however many you want)
  • Cheese
  • Tomatoes
  • Onions
  • Cilantro
  • Serrano or Jalapeno
  • Avocado
  • Chicken
  • Sour cream

So I know you’re probably thinking “Sydney I need measurements.” But this is the one recipe where I will 100% say eyeball it. How many chips and eggs are you gonna make? Well… depends on how hungry you are. Same with the toppings. Hate tomatoes? Don’t put them on! Love avocados? Put on a whole one! This is super customizable to your taste.

First things first, put your salsa verde in a pan over medium heat. You’ll want enough salsa covering you whole pan. Make sure it will be enough to coat all your tortilla chips and more.IMG_4560.JPG

In another pan, add a little bit of oil, put on medium high heat, and add your eggs. You can really make your eggs however you like but for this I like fried eggs on mine so the yolks run over everything. IMG_4561.JPG

When your salsa is nice and hot it should start turning a darker green. At this point throw in your chips and toss them to coat.IMG_4564.JPG

After they are coated and slightly softened, put them on a plate. Then gently slide your egg out of the pan and right on top of your chilaquiles. Then go crazy with toppings and enjoy!
IMG_4567.JPG

** I didn’t take pictures but homemade chips are very easy. I took 3 tortillas and cut them in to 6 triangles. I then put a pan over medium/medium-high heat and covered the bottom with vegetable oil. So rather than the chips always being covered in they are only in oil one side at a time. Lay in the chips so they aren’t overlapping (I did 2 batches) and they should start bubbling. When you can see the edges starting to get hard, take a peak and see if the bottoms are starting to really look like chips. Flip them over and fry the other side. I flipped them a few times until I was happy with them and they were crunchy and a nice golden brown. Definitely an easy way to impress your friends 😉

One Comment Add yours

  1. craig says:

    you can make that for me any time!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

