Buttermilk & Potato Chip Fried Chicken

Recently one of my friends told me that one day he got pretty high and decided to make chicken and waffles. But it wasn’t normal fried chicken; it was potato chip fried chicken. When I heard this I thought it sounded amazing and it honestly turned out to be one of the best things I’ve ever made. (TG-d for munchie creations, amiright?) So…here it is…. potato chip fried chicken!

What you’ll need:

  • 2 chicken breasts or 4-5 tenderloins
  • 1 cup of buttermilk OR 1 cup of milk + 1 tbsp of lemon juice
  • Potato chips (my friend says you have to use Tim’s Jalapeño Chips, which i didn’t know until after making this but I will definitely be making it again with them)
  • 1 cup flour
  • Vegetable or Canola oil
  • Garlic Powder
  • Cayenne or Paprika
  • Salt and Pepper

For the chicken breasts I cut each piece in half so I would have to square-ish pieces. I pounded these out a little with the back of a pan to thin them out a little. One of the pieces was still too thick so I cut it lengthwise. Each piece ended up being about 1/2 an inch thick. Honestly, play it by ear! You don’t want something too thick so that it won’t cook all the way through, but you also don’t want something too thin that it turns out like a a chicken milanese.FullSizeRender.jpg.jpeg

Once its all nice and cut up, I threw it in a ziplock bag with the cup buttermilk, salt, pepper, and a pinch of cayenne. Like most people, I don’t just have buttermilk on hand but I did have milk and lemon juice! Stir in the lemon juice and milk and let it sit for 5-10 minutes at room temp. This will give it a similar acidity to buttermilk that will result in tender chicken! Put the chicken and buttermilk bag in the fridge for at least an hour, but overnight is best. ( I had mine in the fridge for about 5 hours.) IMG_7351.JPG.jpeg

Now comes the messy part. In a dish add 1 cup of flour along with crushed potato chips, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and cayenne. I put my potato chip in a ziplock and crushed them that way, but feel free to crush them by hand, in a food processor, or whatever your heart desires.IMG_7363.JPG

Then take the chicken out of the buttermilk and shake off some extra milk, then in to the flour mixture it goes. Make sure its covered completely, pressing some of the chips in as you go. Warning: the bigger the chips, the less that will stick!IMG_7365.JPG

Once everything was coated I filled my cast iron pan with oil. Again, eyeball it! I put in enough that each piece of chicken would be about 3/4 of the way covered in oil. Turn the heat on medium and check the oil by sticking in the back of a wooden spoon or throwing in a little potato chip mixture. The oil should start bubbling and that means its ready for the chicken!

Be prepared to do them in batches since you don’t want to overcrowd your pan. My first batch took about 10 minutes (5 each side) and my second took about 6 (3 minutes each side). Again, eyeballing it! You’re looking for a dark golden crispiness around the chicken. It’s okay if you have to flip it a few times to get this, but try to only flip it once! If you have a lid for your pan, leave it on as your chicken is cooking, but if not its no big deal! IMG_7366.JPGIMG_7368.JPG

Once I took it out of the oil I rested my chicken on a paper-towel lined baking rack to soak up some excess oil, but not get mushy.

Once all of your chicken is golden and delicious, its time to eat. I decided to go all out and with chicken and waffles (got super fancy with my eggo waffle!) with some maple syrup and hot sauce. A vinegar based hot sauce like tabasco or any Louisiana style hot sauce goes great with this. However you decide to eat it, I know you’ll enjoy this tender chicken with a yummy and crispy outside 🙂 Let me know when you make it! IMG_7369.JPG

IMG_7377.JPG.jpeg

Leave a Reply

