Chocolate Avocado Acai Pudding

If theres two things any Los Angeleno loves, it’s avocado and acai. Look on any instagram and I can guarantee you’ll find pictures of over priced avocado toast and acai bowls.

Being the good Angeleno that I am, of course I had these two ingredients at home. Hungry for a snack, I started throwing things in to a blender hoping for a yummy smoothie, but what I ended up getting was an amazing, healthy chocolate pudding. (Don’t worry, I made it twice to make sure it was still good).

This recipe has so many ingredients that are good for you, and barely any that aren’t. Avocados are loaded with heart-healthy fatty acids and potassium. The “super food” acai is full of anti oxidants, and chia seeds are a great source of fiber. With only half of a table spoon of maple syrup, this pudding is a great not-so-guilty pleasure.

What you’ll need:

  • 1 pack sambazon acai
  • 1 cup original unsweetened almond milk (or other non-dairy milk)
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1.5 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2-3 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tbsp maple syrup (or agave, stevia, or honey)
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder (optional)

This recipe is incredibly easy. While your acai is still in its pack, hit it on a counter or something hard to break it up. This will make it easier to blend. Also, I use the pure unsweetened acai. If you decide to use the one that is sweetened with guarana (which is still delicious) don’t add any extra sweetener at first! You can always adjust later.

IMG_7805.JPG.jpegSo I’m sure you’re thinking “Sydney… you want me to put AVOCADO in something sweet? You must be crazy.”  Don’t worry! The cocoa powder and sweetness of vanilla and maple perfectly hide the flavor of the avocado. The avocado gives it an incredible texture without any taste.
IMG_7806.JPG.jpeg

Next, throw everything in a blender and blend until smooth!

IMG_7807.JPG.jpegIMG_7812.JPG.jpeg

Once it’s blended taste it to check for flavor. The first time I made it I added a hint more of both vanilla and maple syrup and blended it again. Also if the consistency is a little liquid and not “pudding-y” enough, add a little more avocado and/or more chia. The second time I made it it was a little thinner, but it still was a lovely texture to eat as a bowl.IMG_7814.JPG.jpeg

To finish it off I topped mine with some chia, some almonds for crunch, and some banana for a little more sweetness. I hope you try this recipe and enjoy it as much as I do! FullSizeRender.jpg.jpeg

Leave a Reply

